Connect With Us Connect With Us Newsletter Connect with us

Theatre World Awards Honor Broadway Debuts

Ramin Karimloo (Les Misérables), Chris O’Dowd (Of Mice and Men), and Nick Cordero (Bullets Over Broadway) are among the winners of the 70th annual Theatre World Awards, presented for outstanding Broadway or Off-Broadway debuts. The awards will be presented on June 2 at the Circle in the Square Theatre in a ceremony hosted by theater journalist Peter Filichia. Celia Keenan-Bolger of The Glass Menagerie will receive the sixth annual Dorothy Loudon Award for excellence in the theater and Oscar and Tony winner Christopher Plummer (Beginners, The Sound of Music, Barrymore) will be honored with the John Willis Lifetime Achievement Award. The late Willis was the founder and publisher of the annual Theater World volumes which chronicle the theater season.

Previous Theater World Award winners include Meryl Streep, Rosemary Harris, Marlon Brando, Julie Andrews, Christopher Plummer, Anne Bancroft, James Earl Jones, Liza Minnelli, Alan Alda, Zoe Caldwell, Christopher Walken, Alec Baldwin, Bernadette Peters, Audra McDonald, Al Pacino and Grace Kelly.


Ramin Karimloo as Jean Valjean in Les Miserables (Photo: Matthew Murphy)

Ramin Karimloo was honored for his Broadway deubut as Jean Valjean in ‘Les Miserables’ (Photo: Matthew Murphy)

2014 Theatre World Award Winners

Outstanding Broadway or Off-Broadway Debut Performance during the 2013-2014 theatrical season.

Paul Chahidi, Twelfth Night, or What You Will
Nick Cordero, Bullets Over Broadway
Bryan Cranston, All the Way
Mary Bridget Davies, A Night with Janis Joplin
Sarah Greene, The Cripple of Inishmaan
Rebecca Hall, Machinal
Ramin Karimloo, Les Misérables
Zachary Levi, First Date
Chris O’Dowd, Of Mice and Men
Sophie Okonedo, A Raisin in the Sun
Emerson Steele, Violet
Lauren Worsham, A Gentleman’s Guide to Love and Murder

2014 Dorothy Loudon Award for Excellence in the Theater Winner
Outstanding Performance in a Broadway or Off-Broadway Production
Celia Keenan-Bolger for her performance as Laura in The Glass Menagerie

2014 John Willis Award for Lifetime Achievement in the Theatre Winner
Christopher Plummer


Popular Buys

Popular Reads

  • 11 Mistakes Every First-Time NYC Visitor Makes

    Read More
  • 'The Book of Mormon' on Broadway (Photo: Joan Marcus)

    10 Broadway Shows You Must See in 2015

    Read More
  • View from Top of the Rock

    10 Spots in NYC for the Ultimate Skyline Views

    Read More
  • 25 Things You Must Do This Fall in NYC

    Read More
  • Best NYC Hotels for Families

    10 Top Family-Friendly Hotels in NYC

    Read More